ADC 2015 – 25th & 26th June

ANMF (Tas Branch) held the Annual Delegates Conference last week on Thursday 25th and Friday 26th June.
Around 85 ANMF delegates from all sectors and regions of Tasmanian debated key issues and challenges facing health care and their specific workplaces.
Guest speakers included the Minister for Health, Hon. Michael Ferguson, ACTU President, Ged Kearney, ANMF Federal Secretary, Lee Thomas and ANMF Assistant Federal Secretary Annie Butler.

Tasmanian ANMF Delegates debated and passed resolutions relating to rejecting working double shifts and the provision of rest areas at the completion of night shifts to ensure safety of nurses, ensuring nurses working in mental health had post graduate qualifications or were working towards relevant qualifications, and working with Worksafe to develop a strategy to address violence and aggression against nurses, midwives and care staff.

Additionally resolutions were passed to protect penalty rates as a key retention issue and to develop models to ensure additional employment of graduate nurses and to provide on site child care to shift working nurses to facilitate working additional shifts, which has proven to be a successful strategy in other states.

On Thursday night (25th June) a dinner at The Duke Hotel was held for the delegates who attended ADC. During the night the ‘Rep of the Year’ presentation was held and a huge congratulations to winner Amy Boon who is the 2015 Rep of the Year. Joint Runners Up are James Lloyd and Mandy Clark. Congratulations to the other finalists Rosie O’Keeffe, Amy Buettel and Kaye Griffiths.

Photo Gallery of ADC 2015 (below)

reps-for-web Rep-of-year-for-web Michael Ferguson Speech 2 ADC_Emily-Presenting ADC-2015---APHEDA-Certificates ADC-2015-Group-Photo ADC-2015-Micael-Ferguson-Speech ADC-Neroli-presenting  ANMF-Group-Photo Annie-Butler-Speech Darren-Mathewson-Speech Dr-Helen-McCue_APHEDA execs-with-michael-ferguson Francine-Douce-Speech Ged-Kearney Group-Photo-2 Lee-Thomas-Speech