## **Workforce Retention Bonus Grant**

## Residential Care and Home Care

The Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation Tasmanian Branch (ANMF) have worked collaboratively with the Federal ANMF Secretary Annie Butler in continuing to advocate for our members in aged care with respect to the Workforce Retention Bonus Grant.

The Federal Government committed to a workforce retention bonus grant in an attempt to recognise the efforts of all staff in the aged care sector at all times, but particularly during the COVID-19 pandemic, and to ensure continuity of the workforce in the sector. The ANMF have been lobbying the Government for this bonus to be tax free and unfortunately, despite an initial commitment to this, the Government have since backflipped on this promise.

The two-grant provision process is to commence with one payment in June 2020 to staff employed at that time and a second grant on 31 August 2020 to all staff employed. There are several criteria and nuances depending on your employment type, hours of work, as well as a number of criteria that your employer needs to meet in order for this payment to be made.

The process and criteria are quite complex and cannot be easily summarised. The ANMF therefore would encourage all members in aged care to access the Australian Government's fact sheet, which provides all the accurate information via:

## https://www.health.gov.au/resources/publications/workforce-retention-bonus-grant-residential-care-and-home-care

The ANMF will continue to advocate for members during this difficult time, with further updates and advice provided as they come to hand. If you have any queries please do not hesitate to contact our Member Support Team via membersupport@anmftas.org.au or for urgent matters phone (03) 6223 6777 or 1800 001 241 (if outside Hobart).

**Please note:** Due to the current COVID-19 situation, our Member Support Team are now practicing social isolation measures and working from home. Bearing this in mind, email is the preferred and fastest way of contacting them.

Authorised by Emily Shepherd, Branch Secretary

12 June 2020